www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

Ok, this may be a stupid question but I am relatively new to playing disc golf. What does it mean when some is a 1000 rated player?

Can someone point me to a site that explains how all this ratings stuff works?

Thanks

Tags: 1000, rated, ratings

Views: 373

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I'm sure someone (Chuck) could do this much better. The PDGA rates players based on their tournament scores. The top pros are rated in the 1000's for a point on reference 900 is generally considered intermediate. The rating chart is available on the PDGA website. Hope this helps some.
Here are the ratings documents and the first one called Ratings Guide covers what a 1000 rating means:
http://www.pdga.com/ratings
Thanks everyone, I appreciated it. I think I have a grasp on it....I think.

So, today I I shot a 61 on a par 54 course. The PDGA iPhone App said that round is a 790 rating. I have looked on the PDGA website, but it is a little tough to decipher. Can someone explain what my 790 means? Thanks!

Recreational Division. It also means you may want to practice more. A lot more.

Thanks for the explanation. I started playing 10/10/11 - 4 months ago. My scores have dropped from the 80's to the 60's with the previous round out there, a 58. I played five times last weekend, three times this past week, have purchased a practice basket, and play as much as I can. Sure, I need to improve and practice more...but, was looking for an explanation on my score, not a rebuke. Cheers. 

Not a rebuke, just a recommendation if you play in a tourney. That practice basket should help.