www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

In honor of the imminent return of brown park disc golf course I thought it would be cool for all to share their fondest memories of the old course. hope to hear lots of cools stories.....

Views: 0

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

My fondest memory occurred in '06 (I think) prior to the course being pulled out to reconfigure the water runoff. I was a newbie to the game, had about 6 discs in the bag when I walked up to #16. Ran into this guy wearing Discraft gear hanging out on the teepad with a giant camera box full of approx. 30 brand new Discraft drivers. Chatted briefly with him and he offered to let me throw a bunch of his discs. He critiqued my form and demonstrated proper x step and reach back. This gentleman was a true disc golf ambassador!
Only later on did I come to find out (thru the discraft web site) that my teacher was in fact Mike Raley, discraft pro. Although I didn't fully grasp all his tips until much later this 15 minute session was the true start of my obsession. Thanks again Mike! If you ever run into Mike on the course ask him for help, that man knows so much about this lovely game.
can't wait for the return of Brown park!!!
At the age of 51, in 1998, after months of watching my kids throw Frisbees around the yard at poles (babysitter had taken them disc golfing) I bought a set of three discs at a sports shop and went to Brown Park. I threw my first-ever drive on Hole 1 and could immediately feel a frisson - the hairs on my back and neck stood up - and it felt like coming home. Like finding a missing part of myself. Instant addiction.
I hung out with the babysitter from terry's story.. 1997 he took me out to play after months of asking me to go out and play with him, and me telling him I'd never play a hippy game like disc golf.. Boy was I wrong
That summer I hit my first ace on hole 10..

From that day on I was addicted to what the disc did..