www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

First of all, I am a chef and Fri, Sat and Sun are the most important days for me to be present on the job in that order. It just so happens that Saturday is the MOST popular "single day" tournament day followed by Sunday. Furthermore this being an a sport that has people from all walks of life and profession, it seems as though some of us are not in the best situation to play tournaments on the weekend. If there was ONE tournament SOMEWHERE within 2.5 hours of my home in my state in the MON-THURS realm, I would be there. Is there anyone else who shares the same turmoil? Derelicts unite! LOL.

At minimum I think people from each area in the restaurant, public service or any hospitality business should have somewhere to play a sanctioned tournament at least once a month. We should make some of these 9-5'ers take time off to play a tournament instead of leaving our responsibilities on the busiest time of the week. So if it takes a different breed of blue collar, hospitality job having, disc golf loving, devoted players willing to take the reigns of setting up a new kind of tournament during the week then so be it! Please express your feelings on the matter.
Thanks for reading.
Eirik

Tags: TD, blue, collar, derelicts, pdga, tournaments, unite, weekday

Views: 22

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I just dont know how many disc golfers would be able to play a tourney on say a Tuesday morning? I think it would take someone working your kinda hours to run the tournament on a weekday to see how it goes (im not sure how many people would play, unless it was during school/college/university holidays). I suppose you could join your local club, propose it to the committee and offer to run it, and see how it goes?