www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

I was just wondering what disc is the best to learn how to throw first? I'm a LHBH player and have been having trouble getting any distance at all out of my drives. It's not very consistent at all either. Just wondering if there are any suggestions?

Views: 6

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I've been playing for only a couple of months, but I love the Valkyrie by Innova. I throw the Star, Champion, and Pro versions of the Valkyrie. It has taken a little time to get used to, but they fly straight with a little hyzer at the end. I throw RHBH and sidearm.
Sup, Sandman

Try a Sidewinder or a Roadrunner in either CE or Star plastic...keep the weight down to the mid to high 160's. A Valkyrie is good one for new players too.

Be sure to search youtube for videos on form, execution, etc.
I've been told that the "Archangel" is a good first driver. I'll second the "Sidewinder" in a 160-165wt. in Champ plastic. For me the Star plastic is kinda slippery, YMMV!
it's a fairway driver but the lepoard is great in light weights for beginners as for getting distance focus on your short game the distance comes the more you play and pratice and the disc the others have said are all also great first disc
but if the disc is going hard right get a light weight
When I first started I was very decent with Champion plastic. I would suggest an Eagle and a Valkyrie. As for weight... I always threw heavier weights... but if you have issue with distance, then a lighter disc would be good because it will carry the disc a lil farther.
I gotta say

DX eagle

not the greatest disc to throw when you get better, but good for beginners