www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

Any ideas on a disc golf related internship or job I could find? I'm studying physical education in college and want to end up working in the recreational/ outdoor leadership/ camping industry most likely. I love disc golf and figured I should see if I can make an internship out of it! Let me know if you know of any possibilities! I really appreciate it. Keep huckin.

Jayne

Views: 20

Attachments:

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Jayne,

I am looking into doing a masters dealing with disc golf. I came up with the idea when while I was putting together a presentation for the local parks department to get a new course put in. I came to the condclusion that nobody has really tracked how many people play a given course every day. Since park department budgets are tied to usage of the park, knowing how many disc golfers use the parks and having the numbers to show it, would be very valuable for anyone trying to establish a park in their community. Maybe you can set up an internship/independant study with your advisor and local parks department to track the amount of play in the Twin Cities area. Bill Ashton is a Twin Cities area disc golfer that has quite a bit of experience putting new courses in and dealing with the parks department.
Trevor, I think that is a good idea. I have, for years, wished that I had the time to track user stats for some courses around Ann Arbor. Someone interested in a career that is related, could probably create valuable knowledge and get some attention at the same time by creating and testing a methodology for doing that.