The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf
Highlights: Wedged putts do NOT count if 'witnessed' to have wedged in cage from the outside.
TD- Optional Drop-Zone for lost discs.
Player can't use first shot when throwing a provisional, the provisional shot is the correct lie (as I read it, a bit confusing).
Obstacle to stance- can move a stick in your stance if part of it extends in front of your lie now.
I had three in tournies this year, and probably two or three more otherwise : )
I think the holing out one is total bullshit. Any disc supported by any part of the entrapment device...i.e basket and up should be good. Now we are going to be arguing whether or not a disc entered the basket through the side or not. Personally if my disc is inside the basket why should it matter how it got there????
The lost disc drop zone...is a lame attempt at fixing an extremely harsh rule as it were....It's still stroke and distance...maybe not as far as it could have been. But it's still stroke and distance. This rule should have been left alone the way it was a few years ago...or changed to just distance....no stroke.
I didn't agree with the unplayable lie before....now at least the player is forced back to the previous lie. The rule is still whacked as does still allow a player a loop hole for gaming. A player is in deep shule or another impossible lie off the drive or previous throw and is looking at 5,6 or worse...now they can take an optional rethrow and potentially lower their score. The door is still open for shenanigans on that one.
In my opinion the rules committee just failed. It seems that the game and it's rules don't have to be this complicated.
With all that said..I'll play by what ever rules they set forth...respect the dillweeds that came up with this crap...that's another story.
"Essentially, the Optional Rethrow means players may rethrow from their original lie if their disc lands in any of the disc golf penalty hazards
– OB, Missed Mando, above 2m and Lost (which already is handled this
way) – and receive a 1-throw penalty. Of course just like the old
Unplayable Lie rule, a player may choose this Optional Rethrow penalty
without permission from the group no matter where their disc lands
whether inbounds or a hazard location."
That just seems ripe for abuse to me...
All controversial calls regarding how a disc is considered holed out could be eliminated by simply stating any disc supported by the entrapment device is considered holed out. Furthermore defining the Entrapment Device as the entire Basket and Chain Assembly. Simple Solution....end of controversy.
Yep!! it's still pretty much crap!!
Somebody at the top is forgetting the basic concept of "play it where it lies". Which should be the baseline criteria for deciding an unplayable lie...Except OB.....if you can take a stance at the disc or on the line of play at the first possible location. Then that's how it should be played.