The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf
Greetings to everyone,
I had signed up to compete in the Barnett Park Disc Golf Championship 2011. I have played this course in the past (to be honest, it was the first course I played in Florida). But when I reached hole 18 on the North Course, I always skipped it. Why, I was and still am afraid of losing my disk to the water. If you do not know what I am talking about, go to their web site and look up the hole. The basket is on a small island. But since I signed up for this tourny, I'll have no choice but to play it.
I am not really familiar with the rules of the PDGA, so I am asking DiscGolfersR.US for answer. If I skip the hole as I have in the past, how many strokes will be added to my score? If I get over my fear and throw, and it lands in the water, How many strokes will be added to my score and where will I have to throw for a second shot? Also, someone told me a secret for my situation. He told me that when it is my turn to throw, just toss my disk a couple of feet from the tee pad, get a penalty, and I'll be able to throw off the shorter pad. So instead of throwing from the "A" pad with just one, I'll be throwing off the "B" pad with three. Is this true?
I had just registered with the PDGA this year, and this will be my first official tourny. I played in two last year. I won one under Rec and majorly lost one in the Orlando Open. I do not want to look like a fool and I want to play within the rules. This hole has been my NIGHTMARE for a long time so any and all advice will be greatly appreciated.
Seen this on PDGA :
A. A player who fails to play any hole or fails to hole out on any hole during the round may be disqualified, at the discretion of the director, using the following guidelines:
(1) Holes missed due to late arrival may be scored and penalized according to section 1.5 B of the Competition Manual.
(2) Inadvertently failing to hole out (as determined by a majority of the group or an official) shall result in 2 penalty throws being added to the number of throws plus penalty throws already taken on the hole. The hole shall then be considered completed.
(3) Intentionally failing to hole out (emergency, injury, plane flight, etc.) constitutes withdrawal from competition. The player shall be withdrawn from competition and officially listed as "Did Not Finish" on the scorecard and in the event results.
B. Disc Entrapment Devices: In order to hole out, the thrower must release the disc
and it must come to rest supported by the chains and/or the inner cylinder (bottom and
inside wall) of the tray. It may be additionally supported by the pole. A disc observed by two
or more players of the group or an official to have entered the target below the top of the
tray or above the bottom of the chain support is not holed out.
C. Object Targets: In order to hole out, the thrower must release the disc and it must strike
the marked target area on the object as specified by the director.
Also this :
A. A player is responsible for scheduling their practice rounds prior to the event. Availability of the course and its tournament set-up for practice rounds may vary (see Tour Standards for details). The course or courses are closed to practice during the tournament and all other times designated by the Tournament Director.
B. Two types of starts will be used to begin competitive play:
(1) Shotgun Starts (rounds where several groups start simultaneously): At a scheduled time, scorecard(s) shall be distributed to the player listed first on each hole. After the cards have been distributed, groups shall be given adequate time to reach their assigned teeing areas. A loud noisemaker, such as an air horn, shall be used to indicate that there are two minutes remaining until tee off. This signal shall be a series of short blasts. At this time, players are to end practice and all practice shots and move promptly to their teeing areas. A throw by a player between the two minute signal and the start of the round shall receive a warning if observed by two or more players or an official. After being warned, subsequent throws by the player during this period, if observed by two or more players or an official, shall result in one penalty throw added to the player's score, regardless of the number of throws. An extended blast of the noisemaker begins the round and signals the scorekeepers to call the throwing orders. If a player is not present to throw when it is his or her turn, the scorekeeper shall allow 30 seconds. If the player has not thrown after the 30 seconds has elapsed, a score of par plus four is to be entered for that hole. This procedure continues on any subsequent holes for which a player is absent. No holes shall be replayed. If a complete round is missed, or if a player does not finish a round, the player may, at the discretion of the director, be disqualified.
(2) Staggered Starts (rounds where groups start one after another on a certain hole): The player shall start at the time announced by the director. Players may practice until their group prepares to tee off provided their practice does not distract players on the course. If a player is not present to throw when it is his or her turn, the scorekeeper shall allow 30 seconds. If the player has not thrown by then, a score of par plus four is to be entered for that hole. This procedure continues on any subsequent tee offs for which a player is absent. No holes shall be replayed. If a complete round is missed, or if a player does not finish a round, the player may, at the discretion of the director, be disqualified.
C. It is the sole responsibility of the player to be at the course, ready to play in time for the start of their round.
For the Barnett Open there will most likely be a spotter that is in the water to get your disc if it is accessible. There was last year.
I played that course last winter. I thought that hole was great. The water can be very intimidating, but when you park it you will feel very Accomplished. I was down there on Vacation and only had a Surge, a Challenger and a Crystal Buzz. I was real worried about losing the Crystal Buzz, but I parked it. It felt nice. You should just go for it, you never know unless you try.
just play it if its not out of your range. i havent seen the hole but one of the biggest things in tourneys is having confidence in your shots. if you don't trust your shots you're most likely not going to play well anyway. good luck!
I would have found that seriously insulting. I have played Intermediate until the beginning of this year. Never have I participated in a tourney that did that.