I thought the rule stated that the disc must be supported by the basket or chains in order to count, this does not say anything about pulling the disc through the basket in order to count. I was under the impression that as long as you got to it and pulled the disc out before it fell, it counted.
Do you think the rules need changed to expand the target? I don't.
I'd be 6-8 strokes better per round if hitting the side of the basket was good. But the target is IN the basket/chains, not on top or hitting the side.
i hear ya Nibs, you know i personally think i stick more in the side of the basket than i do on top of the basket, i as well always thought one on top the basket should count, by the way that's a pretty white blunt putter you have there! and of course as far as those putts in the picture go....DENIED!!! LOL
Yup still using the blunt. those are just a few of the pictures I have just from this year where I ended up on top. Two of them were this week! Someday the PDGA will see the light! The disc is suspended above the ground by the target, how much simpler could it get? I know it is just an errant shot that had a curious outcome, but so is one stuck in the face or hanging from the outside of the basket!
Not to offend by sounding blunt about it...actually I don't mind at all....As smart as these guys are who make the rules...you'd think they use a little common on this particular rule.....Either supported by the entrapment device period....or completely inside the target area.
To me.....to avoid confusion....the rule should be supported period...On top...Inside....hanging...Wedged...SUPPORTED!!