www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

I was out at a middle school football field today working on some of my drives and was experimenting with different backhand grips. I have these pictures of a grip that I haven't seen anywhere and was wondering if anyone else knows if this grip is used by anyone else or should just be thrown in the bucket. I'm sure it's just a modified power grip ..but just wondering. It feels like it comes out of my hand like a rocket but it might be because it's something new and feels different. I hear that audible snap more when I use that grip though.. I've been playing for about 2 years now and average 350-400 ft consistently if that helps any.

-I'll start by putting the ends of my fingers against the inner wall and using my skin at the end of my fingers as support on the outer side of the disc. It naturally forces the disc to have an awkward angle on release so I press down with my thumb to keep the front edge of the disc down. I think a bad point to this is if I were to try this grip on the Boss... I don't think my fingers are long enough to do it.

Photobucket

My fingers freakin' hurt.

Tags: ??, discgolf, drives, grips

Views: 17

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I haven't ever used that grip. I just tried it on a few differen't discs. It seems very awkward on a destroyer and it feels even worse on smaller winged discs. I would say personally I prefer the straight up power grip, where the edge of the disc fits comfortably in your palm with a firm grip on the disc. Just seems it is better suited for more discs.
yeah.. I think my fingers aching.. .is a sign. Doesn't hurt to change it up and experiment every once in a while. I compared the drives to my power grip drive and it doesn't go much farther. It just felt different.
lol, i can tell by how red your fingers are in the photos that you are exerting a fair bit of pressure, and it looks like it would hurt.