www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

I just wanted to start a discussion about the future of this game. Or lack there of as some would like to look at it.

More and more I see the best players in the world playing less tournaments each year. Opting out instead for the security of a $10/hour job. I believe this to be a huge waste of talent. It is up to each of us to look in the mirrors and say "What have I done for Discgolf lately?" What can we do to get over that "Hump" ? I have been hearing for almost 10 years now how close we are to major sponsors etc etc. I just don't see the major steps being taken that are needed to become truly a legitimate sport.

I'm as "guilty" as anyone I've been relying on someone else to shoulder the load. Well no more, if we want to see something tangible we need to go out and work full time for the sport. It doesn't pay that well to start but the retirement package could be sweet.

I could go on and rant but give me some of your feedback. Am I totally crazy and should just continue to play the game for what it is, fun? Or is there something more out there for those of us that truly LIVE this game. Thanks for your time.

Andrew Rich
Team Innova Member
Roots Roc Reggae
www.purediscgolf.com

Views: 7

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I thought that was Houck in your photo for a second... ;-D

Until a bunch more people, including our own players want to watch and even pay as spectators, there's little to sell potential sponsors even if you had a dozen fulltime people trying to raise sponsorship. Getting more courses in the ground so more players are familiar with and can enjoy the sport is how it worked in other sports to build a spectator base. Even then, look how many kids now play soccer due to grassroots efforts over a 10-15 year period. And yet, it's not exactly become that much of a spectator sport in the U.S. to support pro level salaries beyond celebrities like Beckham.