www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

Funny thing happened in my back yard course today.I have an Innova discbasket about 180ft., slightly downhill through some trees.It's one of those lightweight ones that often gets blown over, like today. So I tee it up with a Discraft Impact 150 and let it fly.It goes straight in the basket lying on the ground.Is it a hole in one? I've had one on the course, and one in the back yard, but not one with the basket on the ground, count it or not?

Views: 1

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Tough one. At first I said no. SInce the basket should be upright, because if it was in it's intended state (upright). You most likely would not have an ace. Then I started thinking (oh NO here comes the headaches AARRrggg!) If you threw knowing it was down. I'd say yes. Reason being. There are many diff. "baskets" ie.. gongs, wind chimes, posts, stick figures.... well you get were I'm coming from. So heck, why NOT!!
If it makes you feel good call it what you like! Aces really don't matter too much except to make us feel good anyway.
Hmmm, interesting. My first instinct was to say no. But, like Rescue, I thought it over and came to the conclusion that if you knew the basket was down and you threw it anyway, and the disc went in, it's an ace. Then I wondered to myself, "How did the disc come to rest in the basket even though it was laying on it's side?" It's totally possible, but unlikely.

Bottom line: It's up to you, I guess. I don't know the particulars. I didn't witness it. If it was me, I don't think I would call it an ace, but then, I'm pretty picky about aces in general. Your call, good sir.
Yeah, the basket was on the ground, I knew it, and I did'ent expect to make it, Hell I did'ent even think about it, but it was cool!
I'd say it was a 180 foot shot downhill through some trees that hit the target. Great shot but I think I'd only call it an ace if it happened on a course.
I would say it wouldn't count cause it's not standing up. Laying on the ground you have the ground and the bottom of the basket keeping the disc from flying through. Especially if the basket's opening was facing you, then it just like a baseball catcher's glove.
No, the basket was lying on it's side, not facing me and it went in right on the fly.Thinking about it the basket was on a 90 degree angle oppssite from me so it was an even more of an ace, with the margin being far less than if the basket was facing me, Thanks PoeticLogic, it was an even better ace than I thought.
Well, it sounds to me like you had your mind made up already. Why bother with the post, then? If you want to call it an ace, then call it an ace.
Am I wrong or was it just a shot at a practice basket? Can I throw at my practice basket and call it an ace? How far do I have to be to call it an ace? So no it isn't an ace regardless of how the basket was. Nice shot tho.
I hate to disagree with you Rescue but...According to PDGA rules the disc has to come to rest inside a upright basket...not hit chimes or bells or whatever. In all actuality the PDGA doesn't recognize any other type of basket. At any PDGA sanctioned event the ONLY baskets you will find will be upright, and will have chains as the stopping device.
That being said...I would count that as an ACE..due to the fact that I was at an tournament last summer and a guy hit an ACE at 175 feet, and won the ACE pot.
Sounds like you already had your mind maid up that it's a ace. I still don't think it is. Cause the basket is laying on the ground and as soon as it hits it, it's still like throwing into a net so to speak, the disc has next to NO chance of getting out of the basket and even if so the ground would probably hit it back it.

That and it's rare to have a hole 180ft. or shorter. Unless it's on a course, it's not a ace. That would be like me saying I got a ace on hole 14 when it hit the chains and kept going. Yours went in, but your basket was laying on the ground. If it was standing up it would be at basket height (it's much easier to hit the ground/basket on ground with a disc). Basically no chance of the disc going past the basket, 90 degrees it's still being caught by the bottom of the basket like a net and not by the chains. Especially on Nylon baskets that have give, a metal one probably would have bounced out.

Don't mean to rain on your parade.

TheZman said:
No, the basket was lying on it's side, not facing me and it went in right on the fly.Thinking about it the basket was on a 90 degree angle oppssite from me so it was an even more of an ace, with the margin being far less than if the basket was facing me, Thanks PoeticLogic, it was an even better ace than I thought.
No rain on the parade, I'm in the hole in one club on the course, just like peoples reactions.

Reply to Discussion

RSS

Blog Posts

Disc Golf Approach Shot Tips by Paul Ulibarri

Posted by Alan Barker on October 30, 2014 at 12:40pm

State of Disc Golf: Disc Golf Growth

Posted by Alan Barker on January 29, 2014 at 2:26pm

What are your favorite Disc Plastics?

Posted by Alan Barker on November 4, 2013 at 1:38pm

2 Tips For Guys To Entice A Girls

Posted by Frederick Cranford on September 11, 2013 at 5:42am

Disc Golf Answerman Episode 6

Posted by CoolDaddySlickBreeze on August 13, 2013 at 4:40pm

Badge

Loading…
 

© 2014   Created by Terry "the Pirate" Calhoun.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

SF00401968