www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

I started playing about 6 months ago, and recently have gotten more into it since I have more time during the summer. I've started working on my putting, and I just can't seem consistently make those easy putts. I used to be the kinda player that wouldn't even try outside of 10 feet, but since that is not going to get anyone very far, I've been working on my under 25 foot putts. I went outside today and said "I'm going to make 5 putts in a row." This was from my estimate of about 15 feet. I never even got 4. Sometimes I even miss 7 foot putts. I think its in part because I am not relaxed about it, when I am relaxed I can always make it, I even tried not even looking at the basket until I was throwing and I was more consistent like that because I was more relaxed and natural. Does anyone have any tips on how I improve my putting?

Tags: putting, terrible

Views: 69

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

One thing that Mr Ellis stressed in his putting confidence video is that you need to build confidence by practicing making putts. It doesn't help you if you go out and miss the majority of your putts during practice. It may look or feel foolish but start practicing from a couple feet away and make 100% then move back a step or two.... progress like that till you find that your missing too many for comfort.

Everyone has really hot days where they can't miss and really cold days where they miss easy putts so don't get too down on yourself.

Watch the putting confidence video on youtube by Mark Ellis and Discraft its good insight. I bought 3 new magnets right after that and began to apply his advice to my practice regimen and my short game is drastically different.
My advice would be to learn to drive so well that you don't need putt because your close enough to set the disc in every time.

granted this is impossible but the better you are at driving the easier your putts are.