I had a friendly discussion with some fellow golfers during a round this weekend, and the subject of "jump putts" came up. We were playing in the snow, so we couldn't put the rule easily into play as you couldn't see anyone's feet most of the frozen time, but still we had some questions about it.
Reading this rule from the PDGA:
803.04 Stance, Subsequent to Teeing Off
A. When the disc is released, a player must:
(1) Have at least one supporting point that is in contact with the playing surface on the line
of play and within 30 centimeters directly behind the marker disc (except as specified in
Am I (and are the others from my group) mistaken in believing you must have contact with the ground when you release your disc no matter where you are on the course--tee, fairway, or green? If that's the case, is a "jump putt" really that effective as you essentially would be tossing your disc and then hopping in the air after the fact? Having watched people throw this way more than once, I'm guessing we are reading the rule incorrectly and that you can indeed be in the air when you release your disc, but that doesn't seem to be what the PDGA describes. Thoughts? Interpretations? We aren't necessarily concerned with the 10m inside the putting circle (everyone's very clear on that), but what about beyond 10m?