www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

My favorite driver went into a thorn bush with 2 inch thorns on it about 50 feet off the tee last week and it now has a tiny hole through the outer rim. I believe this disc is no longer legal for tournament play and I'm not planning on using it for league either but I was just wondering what other thoughts on this are?

Views: 31

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

i say no.
If it's a tiny hole then rub some dirt in it and play on.
I use mine, it had a small hole that you cant see unless you bend the disc. Whoopee, its only league play, its not the Augusta Nationals or anything. Im not a stickler on stuff like that, some dude had a sticker on his disc, not sure why but who cares.......its not helping him putt. Im not gonna be the dude who says hey man, you cant use that. Now in a PDGA sanctioned tourney, all rules apply, no matter what.
I really wouldn't care if someone else threw a punctured disc but for me I would rather just buy a new disc. Although if the hole was in the rim that might change things. I'm not even sure that would make the disc "illegal" since it probably doesn't change the flight characteristics in any way. Here we go with the vague rule again.
retire the darn thing ya cheap son of a buck
You might as well retire it now.
I ordered a new disc yesterday to replace it. I have never retired a disc before. I still use the disc that I got my first ace with (it still works for certain anhyzer shots). I have always given away discs that quit working or never worked for me to begin with, some of which were new. So what should I do with this disc give it away? I could give it a ceremonious last flight into a lake.
LOL, that would piss some people off too, I remember a thread about someone throwing them down a massive cliff into a river on here and it turned into quite a debate!!
It depends. If you can close the hole with heat then it is legal for PDGA sanctioned tournament play. Since Dan Wilkinson's page shows he has a PDGA handicap rating he is a tournament player. So, Dan, if you cannot close the hole then it is time to give the injured disc away to a casual player.

Most leagues do not strictly enforce PDGA rules. So an illegal disc could be used in leagues.

There is no reason for a player who plays tournaments to spend any time or effort with a disc which cannot be used in a tournament. Much of the value of a disc is the knowledge you have of how it flies (the exact same disc without that knowledge is just another disc). Every time you throw a disc you learn (or reinforce) your knowledge of what it does under particular circumstances.

So if you must replace the disc then start asap. Whatever spot that disc filled in the bag needs to be replaced.
Throw it on the roof in rememberance of a fellow dg'er who no longer walks on earth.
i'd use it.
I'd get a new and start breaking it in ASAP

Reply to Discussion

RSS

Blog Posts

State of Disc Golf: Disc Golf Growth

Posted by Alan Barker on January 29, 2014 at 2:26pm

What are your favorite Disc Plastics?

Posted by Alan Barker on November 4, 2013 at 1:38pm

2 Tips For Guys To Entice A Girls

Posted by Frederick Cranford on September 11, 2013 at 5:42am

Disc Golf Answerman Episode 6

Posted by CoolDaddySlickBreeze on August 13, 2013 at 4:40pm

Prodigy Fairway Drivers

Posted by Alan Barker on July 8, 2013 at 5:30pm

Badge

Loading…
 

© 2014   Created by Terry "the Pirate" Calhoun.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

SF00401968