The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf
Trying to apply a different rule instead of the correct rule is never really a good way to solve a problem. ; )
Disc nut said:This is from the PDGA rules,not really a lost disc but moved and possibly replaced o.b.
C. If it is discovered, prior to the completion of the tournament, that a player's disc that
was declared lost had been removed or taken, then the player shall have two throws removed from his or her score.
If the majority the group thought it was OB before the kid picked it up and replaced it...then the majority should rule....and I will also add...if you play a course long enough you usally have a pretty good idea on where the disc came to rest...If you thought it might have gone OB or the Majority of your group who also know the course thought it was OB...then it probably was.
As for the other. The term everyone is looking for is "Verticality" If your disc comes to rest over an OB area without actually touching the OB surface it is still OB.
Well he said the original spot had not been determined by the group.
Someone had to make a determination one way or the other in order for him to continue....right? He took the stroke either by the determination of the group majority or on his own detemination. I guess until he responds we won't know that. What did the group think? Did they have any input?..or did he just assumed it was OB (without consulting with the group) and treated as such...If so he may have screwed himself out of a measly but valuble stroke.