www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

Ok, so after reading DC's post about the casual play ruling, it evoked a strong memory of a ruling that occured at the state championship tournament last year in Ludington, MI. Being familiar with the course is not crucial for evaluating this event, but it helps visualize a more specific locations.

On beast, on the 7th hole you play (including the first two extra holes) its the 400+ ft shot with the pin at the top of the hill. There is a path approx. 320 ft out leading to a parking lot to the left. OB = Surrounded by cement.

2 problems; 2 questions.

First question: what does "surrounded" mean?

The path was overgrown with weeds. My disc was surrounded by weeds, and not touching any cement at all. The weeds, were surrounded by cement. Is this OB?

Second question: how do you determine if a disc is OB, if a pedestrian picks it up, the replaces it?

After I threw my drive, and it looked like it landed right before the path; the disc was not visible at all. As the group walked towards the path, a family walked by my disc and picked up. We were about 200 feet away, and still had not determined the original placement of the disc. I yelled to the kid to set it down where he found it, while running towards him. We found the disc as stated previously.

I took a stroke, and played it where it lied. Did I get screwed out of a measly but valuable stroke?

Tags: rules, ruling

Views: 0

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I think I would have suggested the rethrow option. Regardless, benefit of the doubt to the player.
In a case like that where you guys couldn't come up with a happy medium...Is when it's time to request an official there, then, now.....You have that right, I believe...you guys could have stepped aside let other groups play through until it could be ruled on by the Tourney's official. ...that may cause more grief amongst your group but I believe you had that option.
Chuck Kennedy said:
I think I would have suggested the rethrow option. Regardless, benefit of the doubt to the player.

This would have been my call as well....back in one of the earlier versions of our rulebook...there used to be the verbage "benefit of the doubt to the player" in cases of truely questionable callls.

I don't believe it has existed in later to recent versions for some time now..it does in spirit though.

Besides, most calls should be handled amongst the group...so in one sense, it does still exist.
See 803.01D & F. Benefit and fairness are still in the rules.
Chuck Kennedy said:
See 803.01D & F. Benefit and fairness are still in the rules.


I stand corrected............ D. Appeals.

Reply to Discussion

RSS

Blog Posts

2014 ACE RACE PLAYER PACKS ?

Posted by James Banevicz on November 23, 2014 at 4:41pm

Disc Golf Approach Shot Tips by Paul Ulibarri

Posted by Alan Barker on October 30, 2014 at 12:40pm

State of Disc Golf: Disc Golf Growth

Posted by Alan Barker on January 29, 2014 at 2:26pm

What are your favorite Disc Plastics?

Posted by Alan Barker on November 4, 2013 at 1:38pm

2 Tips For Guys To Entice A Girls

Posted by Frederick Cranford on September 11, 2013 at 5:42am

Badge

Loading…
 

© 2014   Created by Terry "the Pirate" Calhoun.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

SF00401968