The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf
player marks their lie then places their disc directly in front of said marker, does this count as a stroke? I have been told as long as it does not go 6 feet it does not count however, does that mean if I clank a 5 footer into the basket it does not count provided it does not go six feet? Or if I throw into a bush and I am completely blocked in then I throw my upshot and it lands in that bush less then six away that throw does not count because it went less then six feet?
A "throw" is defined as "propeling" a disc. Dropping it, setting it down forward of your lie, etc., wouldn't constitute a throw, nor a practice throw.
A Practice Throw is any throw more than 2 meters OR any distance towards a target. So technically, dropping or flipping (not carefully placing) your disc in front of your marker could be called a practice throw but is unlikely to be called. It's not a good practice in general simply to avoid any controversy.
.....or your throw, if you happen to be standing behind your marker in a proper stance....or perhaps a stance violation, if you're sort-of standing behind your marker?......IF your dropping the disc constitutes a "throw", which you could defend against with the definition of a "throw"....although "drop-in" putts aren't necessarily propelled, either.....uh, where was I going with this?
so, I could call it a practice throw. I 99.9% of the time would never stoop to call that yet I have played with some monumental douche bags in my time and would love to keep track of the stupid things I can use to level the field.
Just depends whether they toss their disc in front or actually place it. If you call it on them, just politely show them how they can carefully place it in front of their mini and not violate the rule.
just assume that if you're not playing with your close circle of friends, or if you are playing an organised even, that EVERYTHING will be called.
Nope. Perhaps everything is subject to being called. In most levels of competition, much goes uncalled.
That was hastily written and a little terse.
In my experience, at least below the top pro levels, rules calling is pretty lax. Footfaults and even falling putts are often ignored if not too severe, 30-second rule never called, and even consumption of disallowed substances permitted. Many decry the culture of rules tolerance we play by---but that's the culture.
So, no, I wouldn't assume that "everything will be called". But, of course, if you know and comply with the rules, you don't have to worry about that one ______ who decides to call the technicality.
It's a little like speed limit enforcement. You can drive 5 MPH over the speed limit and be almost certain to never get ticketed. Or drive the speed limit, and not worry about it.
I may steal that last line for future discussions.
Don't do it to be Safe !!! Once you mark your lie , take that thrown disc and set it in you bag.