The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

I can't be sure by reading the rules, kind of a gray area.

Say your putt comes to rest supported by the cage of the basket, on the outside, but is ALSO supported by a tree. Likely without that tree it would fall (but you can't move the basket or the tree to find out)* this part may be irrelevant. Is it in?

Hole #4 at Lakeshore has the basket placed an inch from a large, split fallen tree. I have done that, it was technically supported by the basket, but also by the tree and definitely would have fallen to the ground if not for the tree.

Views: 2

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

With the new "gimme" rule proposed by Innova this would count..lol
Yes it does... those are supported by the basket.
lol you say I'm wrong then explain my point, funny :)
No, ...it would count as good for the next shot...lol
Yeah one word....Completely lol
The rule reads "Supported by basket or chains".
There cannot be any more assistance.
The tree being an assistant means it is not supported by only the chains or basket.
It is supported by the basket & tree.
The "& tree" makes it OUT
Mark your lie straight down, stick your foot behind your mark and finish the hole...
As I read this, if it's hanging from the basket it counts. If it's resting on the basket and another object, sorry, it's a Disc Above the Playing Surface.

803.13 Holing Out
B. Disc Entrapment Devices: In order to hole out, the thrower must release the disc and it must come to rest supported by the chains or within one of the entrapment sections. This includes a disc wedged into or hanging from the lower entrapment section but excludes a disc resting on top of, or hanging outside of, the upper entrapment section. The disc must also remain within the chains or entrapment sections until removed.

803.08 Disc Above the Playing Surface
A. If a disc comes to rest above the playing surface in a tree or other object on the course, its lie shall be marked on the playing surface directly below it.
Brandon's reply is to the original statement from Captnhowdy, it just shows up under your reply and looks like a reply to you (Jay Dub) and this reply (Disc-O) may not land directly under yours either. I am confused with this explanation, but it looks like you both told Captnhowdy that it does not have to be in the basket, just supported by the basket, which includes the outside of the basket, either hanging or wedged!!!
Ugh. Still getting use to this format.
...and my will go here appearing under yours...but the next one will likely appear as a......
'Cheesy Point' thought...

Follow me?

Reply to Discussion


Blog Posts

Disc Golf Approach Shot Tips by Paul Ulibarri

Posted by Alan Barker on October 30, 2014 at 12:40pm — 1 Comment

State of Disc Golf: Disc Golf Growth

Posted by Alan Barker on January 29, 2014 at 2:26pm

What are your favorite Disc Plastics?

Posted by Alan Barker on November 4, 2013 at 1:38pm

2 Tips For Guys To Entice A Girls

Posted by Frederick Cranford on September 11, 2013 at 5:42am

Disc Golf Answerman Episode 6

Posted by CoolDaddySlickBreeze on August 13, 2013 at 4:40pm



© 2015   Created by Terry "the Pirate" Calhoun.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service