www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

So I completely understand what a practice throw is -as far as tournament play is concerned. That being said, what would you do if a player in your group (with 3 holes left in the tourney, and you might just catch him or her) saw a player in a different group walking away from his or her disc, and at about fifteen feet, hailed the forgetful player and sidearmed it to them? And why?

Tags: courtesy, rules

Views: 9

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

The original question was "What would you do?"
No....the real Question....What would Jack Bauer Do???
Shoot everybody in the group and write all 1's on his card except for the longer holes for a total score of . . . . . . . 24!
Hey !! Look....Course record!!
Good one, Steve. I haven't read past here yet, but I was kinda feeling the same way.

I've tried asking on a message board such as this, "When I get into a tournament situation, which rules are important, and which ones can I ignore?" I didn't get much of an answer.

The way I figure it, if someone warns me that I did something I could have gotten stroked on if it had been called and seconded properly, I thank them and I am very careful not to do it again. If I do get properly called and seconded on something I did indeed do, well, it's kind of like getting a speeding ticket. I am not happy about it, but I did do it, and I try to man up, not be whiny, and accept the consequences of my actions (what a concept, huh?) and move on.

I hate it when the one who is trying to defend the defenseless, i.e. the Rules of Play, is the one who is cast in a negative light, when it was someone else who is actually the “bad guy”, that is, the one who violated the Rules of Play.
I did man up, but I would have greatly appreciated a warning. I'm not demonizing anyone, and especially not the R.O.P. Besides, all it cost me was a possible 2nd place plaque and a couple o' discs. After all, 3rd place is the second best loser.
I know how you feel. You were just trying to do the right thing as a courtesy to someone else. It wasn't like you were trying to cheat.

During PDGA events , I Now , don't even pick up anyones mini marker. Yes , I have been stroked for that in the past !!!!

Reply to Discussion

RSS

Blog Posts

State of Disc Golf: Disc Golf Growth

Posted by Alan Barker on January 29, 2014 at 2:26pm

What are your favorite Disc Plastics?

Posted by Alan Barker on November 4, 2013 at 1:38pm

2 Tips For Guys To Entice A Girls

Posted by Frederick Cranford on September 11, 2013 at 5:42am

Disc Golf Answerman Episode 6

Posted by CoolDaddySlickBreeze on August 13, 2013 at 4:40pm

Prodigy Fairway Drivers

Posted by Alan Barker on July 8, 2013 at 5:30pm

Badge

Loading…
 

© 2014   Created by Terry "the Pirate" Calhoun.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

SF00401968