The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf
I know that this was being discussed this year but is there any definitive ruling on what to do when you land inside a pipe? Happened today and the guy in our group just went vertical. Should it have been unplayable lie?
Also nobody even understands the stupid wedgie rule so far. I asked someone today and they had no idea that it had changed. But my friend says that if someone is going to witness your disc wedging in from the outside you should poke them in the eyes or throw dirt in their face so that it counts. Dumb rule there.
I believe that the Disc Below Playing surface rule 803.08B is the key to this question. If a disc is in bounds yet under a bridge or in a pipe, then a player can take their stance on the playing surface above the lie, without a penalty. The change was stated in the 2011 rule update, but I agree it needs to be clarified further.
This is virtually the same as playing from below your disc when the 2-meter rule is not in effect. Personally, I think this rule is a no-brainer in the post 2-meter rule era, and I'm awfully glad the PDGA came around.
P.S. I too used to mistakenly refer to this as the "rule of verticality," so thanks for the clarification on terminology.
I see. These types of technicalities are exactly why we need carefully thought out, worded, and exemplified rules. This is doubly true when new rules are implemented.
As you mentioned earlier, I hope the RC does indeed take this up and that it is further clarified in a Q & A soon. Thanks as always for the official word on this, Chuck.