www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

I am looking for an overstable midrange.  More overstable than my Buzz but not as overstable as a Drone.  I am looking for a good forehand midrange disc.  Does anyone have an opinion on these two discs?

Views: 321

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hornet is a great disc, but will get a little flippy with a strong forehand. I would guess the Z line would be a tad more stable and that would help.
I have no experience with the Wasp. I was in the Same boat as you though and went with the Hornet. Hated it at 1st, but stuck with it, now I have 2 in my bag. If you want an Overstable Mid in your bag that will Reliably Fade every time, the Hornet is My disc of choice. :)
Lat64 Opto Pain with a high dome and PLH. I was at http://www.dtworld.com/ on saturday and helped pick out one for a friend. My friend is 500' + thrower and uses the Pain for shots I would use drivers for. Hand pick a winner with the help of the staff and you'll get a power mid that won't flip.
Strong headwind would be 20+ mph?
Champ Gator
I would say go with the hornet if you are looking for a forehand mid.  The wasp is an awesome disc....that being said.  You should just get both and own the whole "Hive."  It is the complete package.

My Hornet works fairly well for forehand, straight with predictable fade to big sweeping forehand hysers around stuff.

I throw forehand too.  I carry 3 mids, all Buzzz's in different degrees of wear.  Unless there is a really strong wind, a fresh Z Buzzz is all the stability I want or need.  If I want a really hard turn (like a spike hyzer) or a skip, I just move up to a Z Crush (overstable driver).  Btw, a Crush is a really fine forehand control driver.