www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

Where did you first learn to play disc golf? How long ago was that? I learned about the sport in 1993. North Bend, Oregon. Little 9 hole 2 pad PuttPutt course. We used to play doubles for dollars back in the day instead of going to high school.

Views: 9

Attachments:

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Well, I can't say i've learned yet. I'm a noob, just discovered the sport August of this year, and wish i had 10 yrs ago. L.L.Woods Lewisville, TX was my first course and my closest to home course, and i used to wonder why there were so many trees. Since, i've played many other courses and now realize how foolish i was to think L.L. Woods had a lot of trees. I already own 20+ discs, play 3-5 times a week and hooked like crack-rock, whatever that means.
I first started playing at Cass Benton, Northville, MI in 2005.
Still learning every time I step on the course.
I learned this April at Coldbrook in Climax, MI. It was a large group and I was a bit embarrassed to throw since I didn't really know what I was getting myself into. I did go from throwing a 35 foot drive straight into some trees to being able to moderately keep it in the fairway. I was taught forehand and now I drive backhand. I can't wait til winter ends and spring begins, although I plan to play throughout the seasons.

What hooked me was still my favorite putt to date. Somehow I managed to give myself the best line of the group down a slope in between some trees about 30 to 40 feet I think (at Robert Morris Park). I threw my Avenger because I didn't really know much about midrange or putters and it took a perfect S curve into the basket. The combination of the explosion of the chains with my boyfriend and his friends cheers hooked me forever.