The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf
Thanks for the reply Bryce. I love it when someone spouts off such as, "You cannot use gloves while throwing. They aid to your grip and are against rules in tournament play". When in fact, they actually have know idea at all what they are talking about. Pick up a rule book before you tell people things are illeagal. This is why we have so many rules infractions in this game. No one reads the rules, and then they repeat things they "heard from some pro". Likely that person has not read the rules either. Just because they play Pro does not mean they know what they are talking about. Many TD's don't even know the rules very well. Get a PDGA membership and actually read and understand the rule book the give you.
One of my favorites that just came up again a few days ago.
The disc is inside the 10 meters. My friend throws his put and starts to fall forward. He turns this falling forward into "I was picking up my mini". It was obvious he did this because he was falling foward off balance. I call the foot fault on him and he starts whinning "The disc came to rest, it was in the basket before I went forward". Then comes the "I was not falling, I was picking up my mini". There is nothing in the rule about the disc coming to rest. It does not matter if the disc went in the basket or is still rolling down a 500 foot hill. You must show balance behind your lie.
C. Any throw from within 10 meters or less, as measured from the rear of the marker disc
to the base of the hole, is considered a putt. A follow-through after a putt that causes the
thrower to make any supporting point contact closer to the hole than the rear edge of the
marker disc constitutes a falling putt and is considered a stance violation . The player must demonstrate full control of balance before advancing toward the hole.