www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

I read somewhere that amateurs will be able to cash in at a pro tournament, and not endanger their amateur standing. Is this true? What was the reasoning behind this decision, and how does everyone feel about it ?

Views: 0

Replies to This Discussion

When I started playing disc golf, there was only one division. I never had the chance to play in an amateur division. When the PDGA started to break down the field, I didn't like it. The reasoning (or lack of reasoning) was that new players should have to pay their dues the way the rest of us had. Even if they were only contributing to a purse that they had no chance of winning. As I got older and smarter, I realised that building a larger "pro field" was best accomplished by helping the newbies to have a good time. A large part of that was to make sure that they had something to play for. Everything worked well for a long time, but now I see advanced ams taking prize packages that seem to me to be nothing more than "cash in plastic". Most of the winners already have more discs than they could use in 10 seasons, so they sell off their winnings as fast as they can. This process is also discouraging the top ams from turning pro. Watching pros buying stock from baggers with the cash that they just won has caused me to rethink my possition again. If we can't come up with prizes other than discs, I don't think that this problem is going to be solved any time soon. One idea that I have heard is to give the ams larger trophies. I don't like it, but it's an idea. My favorite solution, at least until I read a few replies to this, is to pay the ams in GIFT CARDS. Choosing the right retailer is important to making this work. Giving away a disc is a crapshoot anyway. No TD can know what model or weight is ideal for every am player, or what the finishing order is going to be. A gift card to a disc retailer helps to promote the sport in a tiered fash