www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

So in a tournament you hear the horn being blown to start a round and there are only 2 players on your hole what are you supposed to do?? Don’t look at the rule book first do you know the answer??

This is not a trick question but you should know this. Very important for both the players and the TD's / officials.

All players must know this as it is the player’s responsibility to know the rules. Yes the TD is there to settle issues but the players must know and enforce the rules. Some rules have to be enforced when the infraction happens, others can be enforced up to the end of payouts of a tournament. The punishment for the players isn’t listed in the rules but the extreme answer or punishment can be disqualification for not following the rules. If the TD thinks you intentionally didn’t follow the rules this is his only recourse. The TD is responsible for making sure this doesn’t happen. But really it is the players who must self enforce the rules!

Tags: PDGA, Sanctioned, events, rules

Views: 0

Replies to This Discussion

The players should first try to get ahold of the TD. If impractical (e.g. on the other side of the course), they should wait up and join the card behind them (or better: split up with one on the card ahead and one on the card behind).
Yeah we haad huge problems at the 2008 DGLO and that is were i learned what is to be done and such.
If the horn sound and there are not 3 players on the hole the guy higher on the card should go forward a hole and the guy on the lower side of the card back a hole.
Do not throw discs you will pay for it eventually
Good to know,since I really would not have known this. Would probably have relied on the guy with me to know the rule.Have never played in a tournament before. Played in ball golf tournaments where this would not be a problem. I guess there is a reason for it though. I assume it would stop two guys from cheating the field by spliting prize monies?
This is exactly the reason that I created this group, there is a lot of experience here and no matter how long you play this game you will eventually run across something that stumps you or that can be left to interpretation (or misinterpretation).
So if the two minute warning is sounded, then go running for your new group? What if you miss their first tee off? Do you have some of the players in the group wait for you to play that hole at the end?
Brandon Swanson said:
So if the two minute warning is sounded, then go running for your new group? What if you miss their first tee off? Do you have some of the players in the group wait for you to play that hole at the end?


What you're supposed to do...and I had to go read it too...is don't Tee anywhere, but return to Trny Central and get the TD to assign an official or impartial escort.

While going and joining other groups seems like a logical fix....is it? That really isn't fair to those groups who just aquired another player without the TD's consent. I'd agree, most of us wouldn't mind if another player joins the card. But if one player is....and that's all it takes...is one guy to be pissed in one of those other groups....now what was a 2 man issue, is now involving multiple players...that's not right...IMHO!!!

In the case Chad described...technically one dude could have been stroked for not playing the stipulated course by skipping ahead ...the other for throwing practice shots. Now that would have been extremely harsh and in some ways not fair to them either.


Tough call!!!!
Logically speaking, Ask yourself how many tournaments do you go to where they have more than 1 non-playing if even 1 non-playing Tournament official. So as the rule suggests going back to tourney central is going to cause you and other player’s bigger problems. After the problems we ran into at our event last year I have taken to telling the players about this rule and making sure they know what to do.
2-somes on a hole at the beginning of a round the higher name should go forward finding the group on the forward hole and the other person goes back. They will have to join the group and play with that group. If you go looking for the TD or an official and there isn't a spare you will have missed X holes and then go back and join a group and deal with even more problems. The PDGA is setup mostly for self rule, so don’t go looking for the TD this is a rule the player can handle him or her self.
If you are not aware and this is not in the rule book if you are the TD you can be punished if this problem occurs to much, you could lose your official status, all because the players didn't know the rules. This is why I mention it in all my player's meetings. Remember not attending the players meeting is no excuse for not knowing the rules. So if I as the TD thought the players played as a 2-some to get an advantage even after I warned everybody not to, I could simply disqualify them for failing to follow the rules!
I have never done this and wouldn’t want to but if it does I will have a decision to make.
You could do this even if you hadn't warned them but because I do I have that avenue open to me. I have never done this but it also hasn't happened again since.
At my event I had 6 2-somes in 1 round because we had a small tournament and sent everybody we could out as 3-somes, I got the suggestion from Dave Gentry “do not use 3-somes” it is an invitation to trouble. There would have been 7 but a group of ladies waited for the missing player. Which is nice but what rule(s) did they violate by waiting??
So many related subjects to consider with this rule.

Now the missing person or persons show up. What do you do?
William Gilbert said:
So many related subjects to consider with this rule.

Now the missing person or persons show up. What do you do?

Let's say said twosome was supposed to start on hole 2, but split up to start on hole 1 and 3. The late player shows up when the forward player is teeing on hole 6 and the rear player is teeing on hole 3. How many holes did he miss?
That isn't quite where i was heading yet but a good question? What if any penalty to the late player? Any penalties to the other 2 players? Are their choices that should be considered?
All of these questions are affected by what the late player does, if he goes to the TD first or just shows up on the course and finds his group. lets say he shows up on the course and trys to find his group, what should the other players he is supposed to be playing with do?

krupicka said:
William Gilbert said:
So many related subjects to consider with this rule.

Now the missing person or persons show up. What do you do?

Let's say said twosome was supposed to start on hole 2, but split up to start on hole 1 and 3. The late player shows up when the forward player is teeing on hole 6 and the rear player is teeing on hole 3. How many holes did he miss?
William Gilbert said:
That isn't quite where i was heading yet but a good question? What if any penalty to the late player? Any penalties to the other 2 players? Are their choices that should be considered?
All of these questions are affected by what the late player does, if he goes to the TD first or just shows up on the course and finds his group. lets say he shows up on the course and trys to find his group, what should the other players he is supposed to be playing with do?

krupicka said:
William Gilbert said:
So many related subjects to consider with this rule.

Now the missing person or persons show up. What do you do?

Let's say said twosome was supposed to start on hole 2, but split up to start on hole 1 and 3. The late player shows up when the forward player is teeing on hole 6 and the rear player is teeing on hole 3. How many holes did he miss?

The penalty is par+4 for each missed hole which is why I posed the questions of how many holes did he miss.
Chad Curtis said:
krupicka said:
William Gilbert said:
So many related subjects to consider with this rule.

Now the missing person or persons show up. What do you do?

Let's say said twosome was supposed to start on hole 2, but split up to start on hole 1 and 3. The late player shows up when the forward player is teeing on hole 6 and the rear player is teeing on hole 3. How many holes did he miss?
This is beginning to sound like an Algebra question!!

Let's make it multiple choice. How many holes did he miss?

A) 1
B) 2
C) 4
D) ?

RSS

Blog Posts

State of Disc Golf: Disc Golf Growth

Posted by Alan Barker on January 29, 2014 at 2:26pm

What are your favorite Disc Plastics?

Posted by Alan Barker on November 4, 2013 at 1:38pm

2 Tips For Guys To Entice A Girls

Posted by Frederick Cranford on September 11, 2013 at 5:42am

Disc Golf Answerman Episode 6

Posted by CoolDaddySlickBreeze on August 13, 2013 at 4:40pm

Prodigy Fairway Drivers

Posted by Alan Barker on July 8, 2013 at 5:30pm

Badge

Loading…
 

© 2014   Created by Terry "the Pirate" Calhoun.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

SF00401968