Playing dubs tonight and something interesting happened that I'd like to get a ruling on. First of all, its best disc dubs. The other team on my card had a few questionable actions in a small time period. We were playing hole 11 at morley field. Its about 450 with a double mandy through a couple palm trees around 400 ft. Both their drives landed short. On their up-shots Player 1 made the mandy and Player 2 missed it. The Player 2 walked to his disc (I assumed to pick it up) and waited while his partner set up to shoot. After about 15 seconds of prep Player 1 decided it didn't feel right and asked his partner to come shoot first. Player 2 putted from his own lie (the shot that missed the mandatory) and missed the putt. The Player 1 then set up and putt from his own lie (not the one his partner missed from) and sank the putt for what he claims is a 3. When I asked about it Player 1 said that it was his partners first time playing doubles and he was not going to putt from farther away because his partner didn't understand the protocol.
I have a couple questions about this scenario.
1. When set up and ready to putt, can player 1 back off and let his teammate shoot 1st, or must he putt since he is "on the clock"?
2. Player 2 shot from a lie that had missed a mandatory without moving to drop zone. What is the procedure/penalty for this?
3. Is player 1 allowed to putt from a lie different from the one his partner already shot? Does the fact that it was an illegal lie having missed the mandy have any effect on the issue?