The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

Playing dubs tonight and something interesting happened that I'd like to get a ruling on. First of all, its best disc dubs. The other team on my card had a few questionable actions in a small time period. We were playing hole 11 at morley field. Its about 450 with a double mandy through a couple palm trees around 400 ft. Both their drives landed short. On their up-shots Player 1 made the mandy and Player 2 missed it. The Player 2 walked to his disc (I assumed to pick it up) and waited while his partner set up to shoot. After about 15 seconds of prep Player 1 decided it didn't feel right and asked his partner to come shoot first. Player 2 putted from his own lie (the shot that missed the mandatory) and missed the putt. The Player 1 then set up and putt from his own lie (not the one his partner missed from) and sank the putt for what he claims is a 3. When I asked about it Player 1 said that it was his partners first time playing doubles and he was not going to putt from farther away because his partner didn't understand the protocol.

I have a couple questions about this scenario.
1. When set up and ready to putt, can player 1 back off and let his teammate shoot 1st, or must he putt since he is "on the clock"?
2. Player 2 shot from a lie that had missed a mandatory without moving to drop zone. What is the procedure/penalty for this?
3. Is player 1 allowed to putt from a lie different from the one his partner already shot? Does the fact that it was an illegal lie having missed the mandy have any effect on the issue?

Views: 3

Replies to This Discussion

That is a mess... I am curious as to how this would be resolved.
Newbies deserve some leeway. Imagine if you stroked every footfault in the Am 3 division.

Before the newbie set up to putt from the disc which missed the mando someone should have stopped him. If it happened before I caught it I would have called footfault and sent him to the proper lie.

Since the rules of doubles are rarely published (I have only seen them very briefly described in the player's booklet for National Doubles) the group should do the fair thing. No harm , no foul seems to apply here.
Here are two applicable rules from the doubles rules on the PDGA site:

1...Any throw made which cannot possibly improve a team's score on a hole is a practice throw.

2...If the first player throws from the wrong lie, the second player may still throw from the correct lie.

The rules for doubles on the PDGA site are TERRIBLE!! Someone should definately work on them. Based on 2, what would stop a partner from putting from one lie and then the team says, "oh, that was the wrong lie" and then they both putt from the other lie.

I could see applying a practice throw here...a stroke penalty. If that first shot from the lie that missed the mando was the wrong lie, then it could be argued that rule 1 comes into effect since that throw could not possibly improve their score...that's a strict interpretation based on the exact wording, but I don't think that's the intent of the rule. Again, the rules for doubles are written terribly.

I guess I would go with others here and just let it slide...if it happened again where they played from two lies, then I would give them a practice stroke, but the first time, with a newbie, and gray doubles rules, give em a break.

Also, I'd say it doesn't matter that the first player recinded the play order...unless that first player sat there for over 30 sec and then handed off the putt to his partner and even then, I'd give them a warning about that kindly.

Consequently, I think the rule should be re-written that if one player threw from a lie, that's the lie team, but it's just not there right now.

see for yourself:

Thanks everyone. I did just let it slide because I didn't know the proper ruling. I don't go out there trying to be a dick to people, I just want to play by the rules.
Brandon makes alot of sense in this response... and I figure most of us would resolve the same way as Mr. Ellis and what Godfather did with the information at the time.

This topic - one of the reasons I really like this site.
Hear, hear!


Blog Posts

Disc Golf Approach Shot Tips by Paul Ulibarri

Posted by Alan Barker on October 30, 2014 at 12:40pm — 1 Comment

State of Disc Golf: Disc Golf Growth

Posted by Alan Barker on January 29, 2014 at 2:26pm

What are your favorite Disc Plastics?

Posted by Alan Barker on November 4, 2013 at 1:38pm

2 Tips For Guys To Entice A Girls

Posted by Frederick Cranford on September 11, 2013 at 5:42am

Disc Golf Answerman Episode 6

Posted by CoolDaddySlickBreeze on August 13, 2013 at 4:40pm



© 2015   Created by Terry "the Pirate" Calhoun.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service