The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf
So, I'd keep the rule as is, just take a stroke off of the penalty. If you lose your tee shot, you retee on shot 2...you've lost a stroke and a disc, isn't that enough of a penalty for a sometimes random situation?
I don't remember who argued that it was more contentious for the group to determine the previous lie than an approximate one in the case of a lost disc, but that is just silly. You stood near that person, you saw the type of lie they had (ie in the schule, under a tree, etc...) whereas with spotting an approximate lie with a lost disc...obviously you don't know anything about that lie, or you'd have found the disc.
Brandon Swanson said:I don't remember who argued that it was more contentious for the group to determine the previous lie than an approximate one in the case of a lost disc, but that is just silly. You stood near that person, you saw the type of lie they had (ie in the schule, under a tree, etc...) whereas with spotting an approximate lie with a lost disc...obviously you don't know anything about that lie, or you'd have found the disc.
Just to be clear, the old rule was not that the group chose a location that approximated the lost lie (like you say, if it's lost, how does anyone know even approximately where it is), it was the group had to choose a location that was approximately where the lost disc was last seen. That was always the sticky point in my experience.
As Bill illustrated in his example, where one last "saw" the shot can vary greatly even among 100% honest players. Different lines of sight and angles, etc can result in three people seeing the disc at three different "spots" before it disappeared. And that's before you take into account those that, regardless of what they actually saw, will give the player the benefit of last "seeing" the disc before it left the fairway (often including the player himself), affording the player a much better lie than he might truly deserve. Sure that's being generous and kind and perhaps keeping the peace within the group, but what happens if the exact same situation occurs in another group and that player gets the sticklers who make him take his next lie in the schule where they last saw the shot go? Probably better, competitively, if both players get the same treatment regardless of group make-up and go back to their previous lie to re-throw their lost shot.
Great discussion....still down with the old rule though. I do agree everyone needs to pay attention to the shots particularly the player throwing it...and in one sense this new rule really really encourages that...lol!! the old rule did too! BTW
But in the case of poor course maintenance...i.e. "Little Course on the Prairie"...where a lost disc is the randomality of bad luck...not a bad shot...the players is further penalized with the distance factor on top of a stroke. Don't like it one bit.
Bob throws a decent tee shot on a 350' hole...maybe the shot of his life...big D.... everybody sees it come down approx. 40 feet short...nuts in the fairway!
they get there and they can't find it in time...buried somewhere in the grass clumps or weeds. Bob had a possible 2... if were found... or an up and down circle 3 with the penality...4 at the worst.
Now, Bob has too go all the way back to the tee..where he likely can't duplicate the first shot anyways...Looks like Bob is heading for a 5...He's now being penalized for a good shot, That landed decent...but in the rough that shouldn't be that rough in the first place! Bob would have been better off, penality wise, to throw a bad shot into the OB creek that happened to be on the left side of the fairway 255 feet away from the pad.
Something is not right about that....IMHO
Oh yeah! Bob's new to the game...still not sure he wants to play all the time...really struggling with it.
Here's another scenerio that backfires this version in the opposite direction...this could happen with this version ..or for that matter, even if the re-tee was mearly an option. (Hmmm, maybe the option isn't such a good idea either) Fred's got game....he can park that 350 footer...no problem. But today's he's a little jittery....first day off competition and all.....He griplocks one....gank!!! deep into the jungle!!...150 feet from the Tee! but ends up 3 o'clock...hard right and nasty! everybody sees it go in fairly deep bouncing around off some trees...out of sight!!! yeah we're talkin 5, 6, 7 territory ...5 if he's lucky, 4 maybe, if there's a miracle parting of the branches....Of course, they can't find it!!! ....Fred re-tees....and this time he focuses...Parks it!!! Drop in circle 4...PHEW!!!!
After the round, Fred and his group learn from the dudes two cards back...that there was...a couple of young pranksters hiding back in there...they had caught those little bastards covering one of their discs with leaves and crap! ....and holding Fred's Disc!!!
So according to the rule, section C. Fred now has 2 strokes removed from his score...Good hole, Fred!!! That 4 is now a 2.