www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

Gday

I was wondering if your allowed to mark the ground infront of you before you throw an example is.

We played this hole where it shoots up hill then plays flat and you cant see the basket so one of the players marked out where the basket was or where he wanted to throw by laying down a dead branch at the top of the hill so he knew where he wanted to throw it.

Is this allowed?

Views: 0

Replies to This Discussion

Never heard of that one before. Good question.
Here is a thought for you. As you are not allowed to move things in front of your disc we shall say between your disc and the basket if the stick was somewhere in front of you lie that would be illegal.
If however you brought a stick from behind your lie or used the water bottle like chad suggested you wouldn't have a problem in this case.
William Gilbert said:
Here is a thought for you. As you are not allowed to move things in front of your disc we shall say between your disc and the basket if the stick was somewhere in front of you lie that would be illegal.
If however you brought a stick from behind your lie or used the water bottle like chad suggested you wouldn't have a problem in this case.

But if you happen to hit that water bottle in front of your lie, you will be subject to a 2-stroke penalty for interference. Be careful.
Man the web the rules weave.
you'd be walking ahead of other players and maybe not ready to throw when it was your turn
Good question!
stephen b's point! 30 seconds is probably not enough time to mark your line and make the shot. read 801.03 Excessive Time in the rules. If you have a caddy to mark it, you maybe could.
Come on now we aren't talking about the 30 second rule here. Valid and true it be.

That is one of those rules that drives me crazy, ever watched a PRO in a bad lie? 30 seconds pleaze!
I know he went down there before the rounds in the morning had started and marked the lie so it was done even before the tournament started
David what you just said conflicts greatly with what you asked when you started this discussion.
Marking during a round is different then marking pre the 1st round. and how would somebody mark a line pre-round when they don't know where they are going to lie. sounds fishy to me. clarification please.
i appologise i only noticed the error when people started talking about the 30 sec rule.

He marked the lie with a dead branch before the tournament had started that day.

The only way i found out was because he told one of the other players on his card that the basket was straight over the hill inline with branch he had placed there before the round.
That does not match the question you asked!
well people make mistakes dude.

still a legit question could happen to someone else

and it sort of answers my question anyways

RSS

Blog Posts

Disc Golf Approach Shot Tips by Paul Ulibarri

Posted by Alan Barker on October 30, 2014 at 12:40pm

State of Disc Golf: Disc Golf Growth

Posted by Alan Barker on January 29, 2014 at 2:26pm

What are your favorite Disc Plastics?

Posted by Alan Barker on November 4, 2013 at 1:38pm

2 Tips For Guys To Entice A Girls

Posted by Frederick Cranford on September 11, 2013 at 5:42am

Disc Golf Answerman Episode 6

Posted by CoolDaddySlickBreeze on August 13, 2013 at 4:40pm

Badge

Loading…
 

© 2014   Created by Terry "the Pirate" Calhoun.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

SF00401968