The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf
i think depending on the level of the tournament, the rule could be put in effect on specific holes or even specific trees.
And Jamie, the TD always had the option to not play 2 meter rule in effect. It's just that the default used to be 2 meter rule in effect...the TD had to say NO 2 METER RULE in the players meeting. Now there is no 2 meter rule unless the TD says 2 meter rule is in effect...or in effect for these particular holes, or even these particular obstacles.
He did??? Are you sure about that? I havn't looked at a circa early 90's rule book in quite some time....I do remember the rule specifically but not anything in tournament procedures or special conditions reflecting that option. I'm pretty sure it was always in effect at one point...could be wrong though????
Have to find an old book from when I originally took my offcials exam...about 95 or so.
The Two Meter Rule was always in effect until 2006 when the rule was changed, and was only in effect if the Tournament Director announced it before each round of the tournament. I approve of the change. I think the rule punnishes players for going for it. Trees are obstacles, not boundries. Rule of verticality should apply. Unlike real boundries (Water and Boundry lines) two meters is arbitrary. Why two meters above the playing surface? Why not one meter, or three meters? If two meters was a boundry, why isn't it OB when it first goes above two meters on your throw?
Here in Orlando, The course rule at Barnett Park is Two Meters is always OB, even if the Director doesn't announce it, like the PDGA rule requires. The DeBary course has the Pre-2006 rules posted, even though the sign was made in 2008. We, the players abide by the course rules, even though they contradict the PDGA rules. I wish the PDGA would make real universal rules, instead of optional rules that create confusion.
Yeah! The course designer at DeBary didn't realize that rule was on the board...until we told him...Doh!!!!
So while it's always in effect at DeBary and Barnett..It's not at Tuscawilla or Reed Canal. I don't think it's in effect at Turkey either.
So in a sense, not only can the TD call it in effect...so can the course designer....which really compounds the confusion.