www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

I for one didn't like this rule...and am glad that it's now a rule left up to the TD or Course Designer and not part of the regular rules package.

It seems to me that getting stuck up in a tree is more a result of bad luck...then a bad shot.

What's your opinion?

Tags: Book, Disc, Golf, Meter, Opinion, Rule, Rules, Two

Views: 0

Replies to This Discussion

In a game that sand traps really wouldn't work, I think the 2 meter rule is valid "obstacle" in tourneys.
i think depending on the level of the tournament, the rule could be put in effect on specific holes or even specific trees.
stephen b said:
i think depending on the level of the tournament, the rule could be put in effect on specific holes or even specific trees.

Here's a situation in which I like it: There is a group of pines that guard one of the routes to the basket...if you use the 2 meter rule here, it essentially creates something like a sandtrap. Also, it would be good on a hole where you wanted to force a low ceiling shot under a canopy instead of people cheating the fairway and throwing the thumber or spike. They could still go that route, but they'd be taking a risk...just like the person going up the gut.

Typically on most holes I don't like the rule, but on certain holes I think it could be a great rule. Often it is luck whether you get stuck or not. So I'm glad the default is now no 2 meter rule, but it could be useful in the afforementioned examples.

And Jamie, the TD always had the option to not play 2 meter rule in effect. It's just that the default used to be 2 meter rule in effect...the TD had to say NO 2 METER RULE in the players meeting. Now there is no 2 meter rule unless the TD says 2 meter rule is in effect...or in effect for these particular holes, or even these particular obstacles.
I was so looking forward to a new discussion here. Our club has had lots of infighting about this rule the extended board says it is part of the game, the current board mostly things it is not needed.
I see both sides of the argument but i think it is a rule that has its place at some events. last year at AM Nationals the TD Tod White only used it on certain holes as a punishment for trying to take certain routes on some holes. Good use of risk and reward.

I look forward to the next rule discussion for what i hope to learn. thanks everyone
And Jamie, the TD always had the option to not play 2 meter rule in effect. It's just that the default used to be 2 meter rule in effect...the TD had to say NO 2 METER RULE in the players meeting. Now there is no 2 meter rule unless the TD says 2 meter rule is in effect...or in effect for these particular holes, or even these particular obstacles.


He did??? Are you sure about that? I havn't looked at a circa early 90's rule book in quite some time....I do remember the rule specifically but not anything in tournament procedures or special conditions reflecting that option. I'm pretty sure it was always in effect at one point...could be wrong though????
Have to find an old book from when I originally took my offcials exam...about 95 or so.
Jamie 'gr8rocshot' Ruane said:
And Jamie, the TD always had the option to not play 2 meter rule in effect. It's just that the default used to be 2 meter rule in effect...the TD had to say NO 2 METER RULE in the players meeting. Now there is no 2 meter rule unless the TD says 2 meter rule is in effect...or in effect for these particular holes, or even these particular obstacles.


He did??? Are you sure about that? I havn't looked at a circa early 90's rule book in quite some time....I do remember the rule specifically but not anything in tournament procedures or special conditions reflecting that option. I'm pretty sure it was always in effect at one point...could be wrong though????
Have to find an old book from when I originally took my offcials exam...about 95 or so.

Jamie, I'm not sure if what I said has ALWAYS been the rule. When I came to the game in 2004, that was the case DEFAULT 2 meter rule. I think they changed the default to no 2 meter rule in 2006? 07? I'm not sure. I'll have to look it up in the book I got when I started in 04. Not really critical. I like that they changed the default and also that it's still available to TDs. I've never been a TD myself, but I've been a league director before and I might TD an unsanctioned glow event this year.
I don't remember many of the dates regarding different rule changes or clarifications...I was less involved through some of those years. I didn't renew my membership after 2001 till last Nov. I still played a lot...just not tournaments other then our own.

I
The Two Meter Rule was always in effect until 2006 when the rule was changed, and was only in effect if the Tournament Director announced it before each round of the tournament. I approve of the change. I think the rule punnishes players for going for it. Trees are obstacles, not boundries. Rule of verticality should apply. Unlike real boundries (Water and Boundry lines) two meters is arbitrary. Why two meters above the playing surface? Why not one meter, or three meters? If two meters was a boundry, why isn't it OB when it first goes above two meters on your throw?

Here in Orlando, The course rule at Barnett Park is Two Meters is always OB, even if the Director doesn't announce it, like the PDGA rule requires. The DeBary course has the Pre-2006 rules posted, even though the sign was made in 2008. We, the players abide by the course rules, even though they contradict the PDGA rules. I wish the PDGA would make real universal rules, instead of optional rules that create confusion.
Johnny Macmillan said:
The Two Meter Rule was always in effect until 2006 when the rule was changed, and was only in effect if the Tournament Director announced it before each round of the tournament. I approve of the change. I think the rule punnishes players for going for it. Trees are obstacles, not boundries. Rule of verticality should apply. Unlike real boundries (Water and Boundry lines) two meters is arbitrary. Why two meters above the playing surface? Why not one meter, or three meters? If two meters was a boundry, why isn't it OB when it first goes above two meters on your throw?

Here in Orlando, The course rule at Barnett Park is Two Meters is always OB, even if the Director doesn't announce it, like the PDGA rule requires. The DeBary course has the Pre-2006 rules posted, even though the sign was made in 2008. We, the players abide by the course rules, even though they contradict the PDGA rules. I wish the PDGA would make real universal rules, instead of optional rules that create confusion.

Yeah...without the two meter rule!!! lol!!!
Yeah! The course designer at DeBary didn't realize that rule was on the board...until we told him...Doh!!!!

So while it's always in effect at DeBary and Barnett..It's not at Tuscawilla or Reed Canal. I don't think it's in effect at Turkey either.

So in a sense, not only can the TD call it in effect...so can the course designer....which really compounds the confusion.
The point is, the course pros at these courses are going against the PDGA rules! The Two meter rule must be announced by the Tournament Director before each round! Per the PDGA: "The default is now NO two meter rule. Of course the TD has the option to make two meters a penalty if they wish. TD's can also have it apply only to certain, designated obstacles."


Jamie 'gr8rocshot' Ruane said:
Yeah! The course designer at DeBary didn't realize that rule was on the board...until we told him...Doh!!!!

So while it's always in effect at DeBary and Barnett..It's not at Tuscawilla or Reed Canal. I don't think it's in effect at Turkey either.

So in a sense, not only can the TD call it in effect...so can the course designer....which really compounds the confusion.
History of 2 meter rule...

Prior to 2006, it was ALWAYS in play, no exceptions.

In 2006, they made it so TDs could waive it, but the default was that it was in play unless otherwise stated.

For the 2007 edition of the rule book, it became the default that it was not in play unless the TD/course designer put it in play for specific holes, areas, or for the entire course.

I think the current writing is perfect. The 2-meter rule, as a universal, was BAD regardless of whether you think it's a good rule/penalty or not. It should be an optional thing as determined by course designers and/or TDs just like OB is. The rule book should be a tool in course design, not a course designer itself.

As for the discussion about whether course designers should have the power...absolutely they should. The TD should be announcing the course-specific rules before the tournament no matter what. If the TD is not making that announcement, HE/SHE is in the wrong, not the PDGA or the rule book. If I'm playing a tournament at that course, and I'm not aware of "course rules" and the TD doesn't inform me of said rules via player meeting or a tournament program/rules sheet, I sure won't take a 2-meter penalty during the event. Unless specified, the PDGA rule book rules over course rules. No announcement, no 2-meter penalty. Which is why I always ask at player meetings, especially if I'm not familiar with the course.

RSS

Blog Posts

State of Disc Golf: Disc Golf Growth

Posted by Alan Barker on January 29, 2014 at 2:26pm

What are your favorite Disc Plastics?

Posted by Alan Barker on November 4, 2013 at 1:38pm

2 Tips For Guys To Entice A Girls

Posted by Frederick Cranford on September 11, 2013 at 5:42am

Disc Golf Answerman Episode 6

Posted by CoolDaddySlickBreeze on August 13, 2013 at 4:40pm

Prodigy Fairway Drivers

Posted by Alan Barker on July 8, 2013 at 5:30pm

Badge

Loading…
 

© 2014   Created by Terry "the Pirate" Calhoun.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

SF00401968