www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

PDGA Rules & Interpretations

Information

PDGA Rules & Interpretations

This is a place to discuss PDGA rules and ask for clarification of rules that have several interpretations, or you may not understand fully.

Location: On a course near you!
Members: 174
Latest Activity: Nov 26, 2012

Don't be afraid to post questions, I see lots of people asking question were it comes down to interpretations of the rules, the answers are not always black and white!

PDGA Rules link:
http://www.pdga.com/rules

Discussion Forum

Enforcing rules during league play. 3 Replies

Started by CBass. Last reply by Jamie 'gr8rocshot' Ruane Jan 21, 2010.

A Disc at Rest 10 Replies

Started by Jamie 'gr8rocshot' Ruane. Last reply by Chuck Kennedy Sep 18, 2009.

Doubles Rules? 6 Replies

Started by Godfather. Last reply by Brandon Swanson Jun 27, 2009.

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of PDGA Rules & Interpretations to add comments!

Comment by AV on April 22, 2009 at 9:06am
got a question about the definition of "supporting point". when you throw from a lie, you must have at least one supporting point behind marker. my question is does a player's hand count as a supporting point behind marker??? PDGA definition under section 800 is: "Any part of a player's body that is in contact with the playing surface or some other object capable of providing support, at the time of release." what do you guys think???
Comment by Eirik on February 28, 2009 at 3:01pm
Great idea for a club.
Comment by Red Line Disc Golf on February 23, 2009 at 11:27am
It was a non sanctioned event and was about 7yrs ago, I don't even think the guy is still active in the disc golf community anymore. The person (who will remain nameless) was very active in our disc golf community at the time and I had seen him play in so may tournaments that not a single person in our group even questioned it. I had remember reading something about a 2 point penalty for a wrongfully tallied score so I took him at his word, guess in hind sight it was partial my fault for not questioning it.
Comment by William Gilbert on February 23, 2009 at 9:34am
Red Line how long ago was this event, Sanctioned? if not to long ago contact the TD for his educational purposes. Don't try to be mean just educational if he gets nasty or defensive you can report him to the PDGA for it. But he would probably just deny it. If not sanctioned nothing you can do about it.
Comment by William Gilbert on February 23, 2009 at 9:33am
The stories you learn as you go along about rule problems I have only been a TD for like 4 or 5 years. But I have had more than my share of fun. I TD'd a course at worlds in 2008.
We had this problem twice and thank god we had a marshal all week to help with the problems. 1 day a friend of mine played our course and the round was over and he left with the card into town to eat before his second round. He had the group’s card on him. He was a good enough friend that I had his cell number in my phone. I was working on scoring a pools board so I didn’t hear the other TD and the marshal when they were talking about the missing card for like 15 minutes. They basically said OK this card is missing and it is the only card not turned in. So we will officially call the round ended at X:XX time this card now has 25 minutes to turn in the card or everybody on the card will be stroked 2 strokes each. So when I heard them finally and realized they were looking for my friend I immediately called him and told him he had like 9 minutes to get back to the course with the card!! He didn’t make it.
So basically you have to start a clock when you feel the round is over and give that group 25 minutes to still turn in that card. If they don’t make it all the members on that card are stroked 2. It would have been really funny if they hadn’t come back until the 2nd round was supposed to start I don’t know what we would have done.
The other story is the same but with even more unbelievable stupidity on the part of the player. Worlds 2008 we are TD’ing the Three rivers courses. The player in question finished his round on the temp course his group finished said goodbye the one guy with the card left. Got back to the hotel, ate dinner, soaked in the hot tub, called some friends and I guess he was getting his bag ready for the next day and then found the card. Tracked down somebody at the hotel and turned it in like 4 hours later. He had the nerve to say there was nobody at the park to turn the card into. We were all still at the park, hence he got the entire card stroked 2.
This is why everybody should walk the card to the Tournament central in the least to protect themselves.
Comment by Red Line Disc Golf on February 23, 2009 at 8:50am
You know I have never gone back and read the rules on this that closely until now and you are right, only that person should have been assets 2 strokes.

This is a prime example of what Terry said earlier about having a copy of the rules in your bag to refer to, on that particular day I did not and took the word of the TD that every one on the card gets 2 strokes as he should have obviously known the rules better than I do. Well I guess if nothing else learn from my mistake and don't assume that because they are a Ref, Pro, or even a TD that they know the rules any better than you do and check for your self, by me not checking I knocked myself out of cash and prizes.
Comment by Poppy on February 23, 2009 at 8:34am
Only the player with the incorrect score would or should be penalized, correct score + 2.
All players on the card would be penalized 2 strokes each if the card was turned in late, more than 25 minutes after completion of the round.
Comment by Red Line Disc Golf on February 23, 2009 at 7:54am
I was actually speaking of the end tally, if the scores are not accurate at the end of the round ie.player 1 records a 54, player 2 a 60, and player 3 a 50 when they were actually tallied wrong as 54, 58, and 50 and handed in incorrectly each person on the card is penalized and the person what was added incorrectly returned to their correct score plus the assessed penalty.

This actually happened to me in tournament once I checked the score cards to make sure my total was correct and then signed off on the card and walked away very happy to find that my round put me in second, then latter found that my group had turned in a card that was added incorrectly. After the assessments I ended knocked down to fourth and ended up out of the prizes, let me tell you it sucks so make sure you check your groups card really well!
Comment by William Gilbert on February 22, 2009 at 10:37pm
Red Line just to be clear and what it sounded like you said.
The current scorer is responsible for correctly writing the scores on the card for each player. The scorer cannot be punished for incorrect scores unless it is proven he/she intentionally recorded the wrong scores. I would recommend the scorer repeat out load back to the group what each person says they scored, not because it may or may not be a rule but because it protects the scorer because he repeated back what he heard and it gives all the other players a chance to catch a misreported score a 2nd time. Also the scorer should not just write his score without out saying what he/she scored as well. I can remember if this is a rule but it has been proposed at least.
The individual scorers are not responsible for wrong score totals it is the individual players responsibility to make sure his score / total is correct. If the score is wrong he can be stroked 2 strokes onto the correct score. So if his card says 61 and the actual score is 60 his scored is changed to a 62. Just like the example of writing a -1 as a score if par is 54 and he/she wrote -1 his score would be stroked 2 to be a 55.

Also this is a rule scorers can only right write numbers. We have seen and still do people writing pars as a -, that is a dash or hyphen. I forget what the punishment for this can be. Maybe your score is changed to par plus 4. Assuming par is 3 that would become a 7.
Comment by Donnie Brooks, Mini Disc Golf Federation on February 22, 2009 at 5:42pm
It is my understanding that the PDGA does not currently have a program in place to train new Marshals. Is this correct?
 

Members (171)

 
 
 

Blog Posts

2014 ACE RACE PLAYER PACKS ?

Posted by James Banevicz on November 23, 2014 at 4:41pm

Disc Golf Approach Shot Tips by Paul Ulibarri

Posted by Alan Barker on October 30, 2014 at 12:40pm

State of Disc Golf: Disc Golf Growth

Posted by Alan Barker on January 29, 2014 at 2:26pm

What are your favorite Disc Plastics?

Posted by Alan Barker on November 4, 2013 at 1:38pm

2 Tips For Guys To Entice A Girls

Posted by Frederick Cranford on September 11, 2013 at 5:42am

Badge

Loading…
 

© 2014   Created by Terry "the Pirate" Calhoun.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

SF00401968