www.DiscGolfersR.Us

The Community of Disc Golfers and About All Things Disc Golf

This is great! I can actually join the club where my disc golf roots began. I never got involved enough back in the day when I first started playing, but I was there in the fabric playing at old SSU and Crane Creek.....

Views: 5

Replies to This Discussion

Either I forgot or didn't realize you started playing here. We're still working with the county to get a course back in at Crane Creek, but they continue to drag their feet. I'm pretty sure it will happen, but to say when that will be, really hard to say.

Unfortunately the old SSU course is gone, in fact they have just finished cutting down all the eucalyptus trees that lined the road. Will try to download picture later.
I started playing at Doyle Park in Santa Rosa with whamo freestyle frisbees in the Late 1970's/ early 1980's. Some of the guys from SSU would come over to the park because they heard there was a course there... Well it was all obstacles and we played right through groups of picnicers etc... So they could not throw their golf discs, well we ended up going out to Crane Creek and SSU from time to time. I went into the army and stopped playing for years, and started playing again after a long break at SSU with real golf discs when I worked at the Rohnert Park Hewlet Pakard plant from 1995 to1998. We had our own course on campus with obstacles and one basket. The facility manager bought us all a three disc starter pack! Then I moved up to Chico to finish by B.S. and wouldn't you know it I hear form my own brother that the course at SSU is going to be removed. My brother was the project manager on the dorm project and was in charge of removing the 9 holer at SSU.... The course I started on and got my very first Ace... I can't wait to play Crane Creek again. the Sonoma County Regional Parks department sends me emails whenever something happens. I also occaisionally bug them about getting it done!